List of Famous Football Stadiums in India

Over the years, football has gained many fans in India and the number of football stadiums has also increased. U-17 FIFA World Cup was hosted by India and the 2020 U-17 FIFA Women’s World Cup was scheduled to be held in India but was postponed due to COVID-19. Here is the list of famous football stadiums in India and related facts.

Stadium Name

Established in



Ambedkar Stadium


New Delhi

The stadium has hosted international football finals, such as the Nehru Cup in 2007 and 2009.

Anna Stadium


Tiruchirappalli (Tamil Nadu)


Baichung Stadium


Namchi (Sikkim)

The stadium was named after Bhaichung Bhutia, one of contemporary India's most well-known footballers.

Bakshi Stadium

Under renovation

Srinagar (Jammu & Kashmir)

The stadium is currently under renovation and will host Real Kashmir FC's home matches in the I-League.

Birsa Munda Football Stadium


Ranchi (Jharkhand)

This is a football stadium dedicated to Birsa Munda in Ranchi's Morobadi ground.

Calicut Medical College Stadium

(Officially known as Olympian Rahman Stadium)


Kozhikode (Kerala)

The stadium hosts football matches along with EMS Stadium.

Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium

(Also known as 'Police Stadium')


Thiruvananthapuram (Kerala)

The stadium was constructed in 1956 in the honor of the first Inspector General of Police of Kerala, Shri N Chandrasekaran Nair.

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

(Also known as the Marina Arena)


Chennai (Tamil Nadu)

The stadium is named after India's first Prime Minister, Jawaharlal Nehru.

Duler Stadium


Mapusa (Goa)

It was the former home of local I-League clubs who participated in the highest level of football in the country.

Sporting Club East Bengal


Kolkata (West Bengal)

East Bengal had won their first league title in 1942 and has won it 39 times since.

EMS Stadium


Kozhikode (Kerala)

The stadium is named after Kerala's first Chief Minister, communist leader E.M.S. Namboodiripad.

Pandit Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium

(Fatorda Stadium)


Margao (Goa)

It has a capacity of 19,000 people and is Goa's only international stadium.

Guru Nanak Stadium


Ludhiana (Punjab)

In 2001, it had the honour of hosting the 31st National Games.

Indira Gandhi Athletic Stadium


Guwahati (Assam)

The stadium recorded the highest attendance for a football game in Assam, with 32,844 spectators on October 20, 2016.

Kishore Bharati Krirangan

(Also known as Jadavpur Stadium)



Kolkata (West Bengal)

On the occasion of the 2020–21 I-League, it was inaugurated by Chief Minister Mamata Banerjee.

Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium


New Delhi

In terms of seating capacity, it is India's fourth-largest stadium, Asia's 27th largest stadium, and the world's 103rd largest stadium.

JRD Tata Sports Complex


Jamshedpur (Jharkhand)

It holds the record for the first highest average home attendance for Jamshedpur FC in the 2018–19 ISL season.

Kalyani Stadium


Kalyani (West Bengal)

It now hosts matches of I-League.

Kanchenjunga Stadium

(Also known as Kanchanjungha Krirangan)


Siliguri (West Bengal)

In March 2014, the stadium hosted the final matches of the 2013–14 Santosh Trophy.

Mohun Bagan Ground


Kolkata (West Bengal)

In 1977, Mohun Bagan became the first club on the ground to install floodlights in its stadium.

Paljor Stadium

(Also known as

Palzor Stadium)          


Gangtok (Sikkim)

Dr. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam, India's President, inaugurated the ultra-modern Paljor Stadium on September 22, 2005.

Rabindra Sarobar Stadium


Kolkata (West Bengal)

In 2017, Mohun Bagan used this stadium as their home ground for AFC Cup matches.

Salt Lake Stadium

(Officially the Vivekananda Yuba Bharati Krirangan)


Kolkata (West Bengal)

In terms of seating capacity, it is India's second largest football stadium.

It was the world's largest football stadium before its renovation in 2011, with a seating capacity of 120,000.

Thrissur Municipal Corporation Stadium


Thrissur (Kerala)

In April 1990, it hosted the Federation Cup.

Tilak Maidan Stadium


Vasco da Gama (Goa)

Since 2020, it is hosting Indian Super League matches.

  • Rungrado 1st of May Stadium (North Korea) is the biggest stadium in the world in terms of seating capacity.
  • Salt Lake Stadium is the biggest football stadium of India and was the largest football stadium in the world until 1989.

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about Football Stadiums in India

In which city is the Birsa Munda Football Stadium situated?

Birsa Munda Football Stadium dedicated to Birsa Munda is located in Ranchi.

In which year was the Chandrasekharan Nair Stadium constructed?

Chandraskharan Nair stadium was constructed in 1956 in the honor of the first Inspector General of Police of Kerala, Shri N Chandrasekaran Nair.

Which football stadium was the first one to install floodlights in its stadium?

Mohun Bagan became the first club on the ground to install floodlights in its stadium in 1977.

Which is the biggest football stadium in India?

Salt Lake Stadium is the biggest football stadium of India.

New Year Offer get 20% Off
Use Coupon code PENDULUMEDU

half yearly current affairs year book july dec 2021 Rs.199/- Read More
half yearly current affairs in hindi jul dec 2021 Rs.199/- Read More
current affairs year book 2021 Rs.349/- Read More
annual banking awareness 2022 books Rs.999/- Read More



Share Blog

Question Of The Day

Select the most appropriate word to fill in the blank.

Get out and active ____ the beach, wander the park, then stop off in town for a convenient meal.

Current Affairs

Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz