Important Awards, their Fields and First Awardees

Check out the list of important national and international awards from which one can expect questions in the government exams like SSC CGL, State PCS, SSC CHSL, SSC CPO, UPSC CSE, IBPS PO Mains, etc. The given below list contains the name of the award, the field in which these are given and the year in which the award was instituted.

Awards Name

Awards field

Establishment Year

First Awardee

Bharat Ratna

Any field of Human Endeavour

Instituted in 1954


  • Sarvepalli Radhakrishan
  • C.Rajagopalachari
  • C.V.Raman

Padma Vibhushan

Exceptional and distinguished service

Instituted in 1954

  • Satyendra Nath Bose
  • Nandalal Bose
  • Zakir Husain
  • Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher
  • V.K. Krishna Menon
  • Jigme Dorji Wangchuck

Padma Bhushan

Distinguished service of a high order

Instituted in 1954

Homi Jehangir Bhabha

Padma Shri

Distinguished service

Instituted in 1954

Balbir Singh Dosanjh

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna award

Sports (Highest Sports honour in India)

Started in 1991-1992

Viswanathan Anand

Dhyan Chand Award

Sports and games

Started in 2002

  • Shahuraj Birajdar
  • Ashoka Diwan
  • Aparna Ghosh

Dronacharya Award

Outstanding Coaches in Sports and Games

Started in 1985

  • Bhalchandra Bhaskar Bhagwat
  • Om Prakash Bhardwaj
  • O. M. Nambiar

Jnanpith Award


Started in 1961

G. Sankara Kurup

Saraswati Samman


Started in 1991

Harivansh Rai Bachchan

Moorti Devi Award


Started in 1983

C.K. Nagaraja Rao

Vyas Samman

Hindi literature

First awarded in 1991

Dr Ram Vilas Sharma for Bharat ke Pracheen bhasha parivar aur Hindi

Sahitya Akademi Award

Literature (24 Indian languages)

Started in 1954

  • R.K. Narayan (English- The Guide in 1960)
  • Makhanlal Chaturvedi (Hindi- Him-Tarangini in 1955)

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

Outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema

Started in 1969

Devika Rani

Shanti Swarup Bhatnagar Prize

Science and technology

Started in 1958

Kariamanickam Srinivasa Krishnan

Noble prize

Literature, Medicine, Chemistry, Physics, Peace, Economic Sciences

First awarded in 1901

Frédéric Passy and Henry Dunant (Peace)


Oscar Award

(Academy Award)

Cinematic/Best in Film

Started in 1929

  • Best picture award (Wings)
  • Best actor (Emil Jannings)

Arjuna Award

Sports and games

Started in 1961

  • Saleem Durrani (Cricket)
  • Gurucharan Singh Randhawa (Athletics)
  • Sarabjeet Singh (Basketball)
  • Manuel Aaron (Chess)
  • Nandu Natekar (Badminton)
  • LB D'souza (Boxing)

Right livelihood Award (Alternative Nobel Prize)

Practical and exemplary solutions to the most urgent challenges facing the world today;

Given in fields like environmental protection, human rights, sustainable development, health, education, and peace

Started in 1980

  • Hassan Fathy
  • Stephen Gaskin/ Plenty International

UNESCO Prize for Human Rights Education

Human rights awareness

Started in 1978

Mumtaz Soysal (Turkey)

World Food prize

(Nobal Prize in agriculture)

Agriculture and food

Started in 1986

Dr. Monkombu Sambasivan Swaminathan (India)

Stirling Prize (replaced the RIBA Building of the Year Award)

Excellence in Architecture

Started in 1996


Stephen Hodder for Centenary Building,

University of Salford, Salford

R.D Birla Award


Started in 1980

Professor Abdus Salam

ICTP, Trieste, Italy

Pritzker Architecture Prize


Started in 1979

Philip Johnson

Grammy Award

Outstanding achievements in the music industry

Started in 1959

  • RECORD OF THE YEAR- Nel Blu Dipinto Di Blu (Volare)
  • ALBUM OF THE YEAR-The Music from Peter Gunn
  • SONG OF THE YEAR- Nel Blu Dipinto Di Blu (Volare)

Abel Prize

Outstanding scientific work in the field of mathematics

Instituted in 2002

  • Jean-Pierre Serre (2003)
  • First Indian to get Abel Prize - professor Srinivasa SR Varadhan (2007)

Lal Bahadur Shastri  National Award

Excellence in public administration, Academics and Management

Started in 2000

Prof. C.K. Prahalad (2000)

Green Star Award

Excellence in preventing, preparing for and responding to environmental emergencies

Started in 2009

  • Mike Cowing, United Nations Environment Programme
  • Center for Scientific Support in Disaster Situations (CENACID) of Paraná Federal University in Brazil
  • Spiez Laboratory, Switzerland
  • Government of the Netherlands
  • Government of Sweden

Manthan Award

Outstanding contributions in digital content creation

Started in 2004

  • e-Entertainment- World Cup Cricket, DELHI
  • e-Health- Sisu Samrakshak, ANDHRA PRADESH
  • e-Science- Electrophoresis e-Lab
  • e-Culture- Honeybee Network, GUJARAT

Sangeet Natak Akademi Award

Award for performing arts in India

Instituted in 1951

  • Mushtaq Hussain Khan-Music- (Hindustani - Vocal)
  • Alauddin Khan- Music (Hindustani - Sarod)
  • Ariyakudi Ramanuja Iyengar- Music (Carnatic - Vocal)
  • Karaikudi Sambasiva Iyer- Music (Carnatic - Veena)


Cool Offer in HOT Summer get 35% Off
Use Coupon code MAY24

six months current affairs 2023 july december Rs.199/- Read More
half yearly financial awareness july december 2023 Rs.199/- Read More
half yearly current affairs in hindi july december 2023 in detail Rs.219/- Read More
half yearly current affairs jan july 2023 in detail Rs.219/- Read More



Share Blog

Question Of The Day

In which year was the Reserve Bank of India established? / भारतीय रिज़र्व बैंक की स्थापना किस वर्ष हुई थी? 

Current Affairs

Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz