President of India

A number of questions from Indian Polity are asked in almost every government exam. Thus, this study material will boost your preparation level and help in fetching good score in government exams like SSC, Railways, Defence, IBPS, etc.

The post of President of India as the nominal head is similar to that of Queen in Britain. While the method of election of President in India is a borrowed feature from Ireland’s Constitution. The President is the most prestigious post in India’s democratic and constitutional system.


The election of the President in India is described in Article 54 of the Constitution. The President of India is elected indirectly through the single transferable vote system.


According to Article 56, Part V of the Constitution of India, the President can continue in office for a term of five years. He is eligible for re-election. He can contest elections for the post no matter how many times.


  • The President can be removed from office through impeachment before 5 years. It is described in Article 61.
  • The President of India can be removed only for violation of the Constitution, but the Constitution does not define the meaning of violation of the Constitution.
  • Impeachment against the President can be initiated in any House of Parliament. Its resolution requires the signature of one-fourth of members of Parliament. Also, 14 days advance notice is required for this.
  • If the resolution is passed by two-third majority of the Parliament, the President has to resign.

Powers and Functions

The following powers have been conferred on the President by the Indian Constitution:

1. Administrative- Under Article 77, the work of various ministries and departments of the government is done in the name of the President. The President appoints the Chief Justice of India and other judges of Supreme Court, CAG, Chief Election Commissioner and other election commissioners, Attorney General of India, Governor, Finance Commission, etc.

2. Military - The President is the head of all the three armies.

3. Political - The President leads the relationship with various countries.

4. Legislative - The President convenes the session of Parliament, addresses Parliament from time to time, keeps various reports on the table of Parliament, approves various Bills, nominates 12 members to the Rajya Sabha, etc.

5. Judicial- The Constitution empowers the President to promulgate ordinances under Article 123. Also, Article 72 describes the presidential pardoning powers i.e. pardon, reprieve, respite, remission, commutation.

6. Emergency- The President can declare emergency under Article 352 (National Emergency), Article 356 (State Emergency/President’s rule) and Article 360 (Financial Emergency).


The given below table contains the name of current and former Indian Presidents.

S No




Dr. Rajendra Prasad

26 January, 1950 to 13 May, 1962


Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan

13 May, 1962 to 13 May, 1967


Dr. Zakir Husain

13 May, 1967 to 3 May, 1969


Shri Varahagiri Venkata Giri

3 May, 1969 to 20 July, 1969 and 24 August, 1969 to 24 August, 1974


Dr. Fakhruddin Ali Ahmed

24 August, 1974 to 11 February, 1977


Shri Neelam Sanjiva Reddy

25 July, 1977 to 25 July, 1982


Giani Zail Singh

25 July, 1982 to 25 July, 1987


Shri R Venkataraman

25 July, 1987 to 25 July, 1992


Dr Shankar Dayal Sharma

25 July, 1992 to 25 July, 1997


Shri K. R. Narayanan

25 July, 1997 to 25 July, 2002


DR. A.P.J. Abdul Kalam

25 July, 2002 to 25 July, 2007


Smt Pratibha Devisingh Patil

25 July, 2007 to 25 July, 2012


Shri Pranab Mukherjee

25 July, 2012 to 25 July, 2017


Shri Ram Nath Kovind

25 July, 2017-24 July, 2022


Droupadi Murmu

25 July, 2022-Till present


Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs) about President of India

Who is the first Tribal President of India?

Droupadi Murmu has become the first Tribal President of India. She is also the youngest President of India.

Who elects the President of India?

Elected Members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha and elected members of the State Legislative Assemblies participate in the Presidential election.

What is the tenure of President of India?

The tenure of President of India is 5 years.

Who has become the 15th President of India?

Droupadi Murmu has become the 15th President of India.

What is the salary of President of India?

The salary of President of India is Rs. 5 lakhs.

Cool Offer in HOT Summer get 35% Off
Use Coupon code MAY24

six months current affairs 2023 july december Rs.199/- Read More
half yearly financial awareness july december 2023 Rs.199/- Read More
half yearly current affairs jan july 2023 in detail Rs.219/- Read More
half yearly current affairs jul dec 2023 in detail Rs.219/- Read More



Share Blog

Question Of The Day

Which of the following festivals of Tamil Nadu is dedicated to Lord Muruga? / तमिलनाडु का निम्नलिखित में से कौन सा त्योहार भगवान मुरुगा को समर्पित है? 

Current Affairs

Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz