Biography of Droupadi Murmu - 15th President of India

2022-07-23 | Raj Raushan

On 21 July 2022, the results of the election of the President of India were announced after the counting of votes. Draupadi Murmu contested as a candidate of the National Democratic Alliance (NDA) and Yashwant Sinha was the candidate of the opposition parties for the Presidential Election.

A few highlights from Draupadi Murmu’s election are as follows:

  • She is the first tribal woman to hold the office of the President of India
  • Draupadi Murmu has become the youngest ever president of India.
  • After Pratibha Patil, she is the second woman to be appointed to the top constitutional post in the country.
  • She will be the first President of India who was born after independence.

In the presidential election, Droupadi Murmu got 64 percent and opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha got 36 percent votes. After the third round of counting, Ms. Murmu got 5 Lakh 77 thousand 777 value of votes while Opposition candidate Yashwant Sinha has 2 Lakh 61 thousand 62 value of votes. The total valid votes were 1,333, out of this Draupadi Murmu got 812 votes, and Yashwant Sinha got 521 votes.

Biography of Draupadi Murmu:




20 June 1958 in a Santali tribal family in Uparbeda village, Odisha


Graduate (Arts) from Rama Devi Women’s University, Odisha

Political Party

Bharatiya Janata Party


Junior Assistant at Irrigation Department, Odisha

Teacher, Shri Aurobindo Integral Education Centre, Rairangpur


Biranchi Narayan Tudu

She was born on 20 June 1958 in a Santali tribal family in Uparbeda village, Odisha.

She was the first girl in her village to go to college, and now she is the first tribal President of India. Her story is an inspiration to millions of people, especially women from the downtrodden section of society.

She got her education in Bhubaneswar and worked as a junior assistant for the State Irrigation and Power Department between 1979 and 1983. She then became a teacher at the Shri Aurobindo Integral Education Center in Rairangpur until 1997.

She stepped into politics by joining the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) in 1997. Initially, she was selected as a councilor for the Rairangpur Nagar Panchayat, and she was appointed as chairperson of the same panchayat in 2000.

She became a member of the council of ministers in the BJP and Biju Janata Dal coalition government in Odisha. From March 2000 to August 2002, she was the Minister of State (independent charge) for commerce and transportation. From August 2002 to May 2004, she became the Minister for fisheries and animal resources development.

In 2007, the Odisha assembly awarded her the Nilkhantha Award for the best MLA.

In 2015, she became the first woman tribal leader from Odisha to be appointed as the governor of Jharkhand. She was also shortlisted for the post of President in 2017.

Raj Raushan

Joined On : 15-Mar-21

Raj Raushan is an expert in General Awareness with experience of over 5 years as a Content Creator of General Awareness, Current affairs and Banking awareness.



Share Blog