QOTD-Which of the following is not a permanent member of the United Nations Security Council (UNSC)?

2019-08-02 | Team PendulumEdu


   A. Russia

   B. Germany

   C. UK

   D. China


United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is one of the main six principles organ of the United Nations Organization (UNO). Its main responsibility is to maintain international peace and security. There are 15 members in the council, out of which five members are permanent, and ten are non-permanent. Each member of the council has one vote. The non-permanent members are elected for two-year terms by the General Assembly.

The five permanent members are- China, France, Russia, UK, and USA. Currently, Belgium, Côte d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Poland, and South Africa are the non-permanent members of the UN security council.

Hence, B is the correct answer.

Questions related to International organizations are asked in various competitive exams like UPSC CSE, UPSC CDS, State PSC, SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SSC MTS, etc. Try and attempt free mock tests at PendulumEdu. Also, one can clear their doubts related to any of the government exams through PendulumEdu’s one-to-one session.



Share Blog