QOTD - National Young Scientist Award 2018

2019-09-22 | Team PendulumEdu

___________ was conferred with the National Young Scientist Award for the year 2018.


A. Prof. Syed Wajih Ahmad Naqvi

B. Dr. Sohini Ganguly

C. Pradipta Sur

D. Dr. Vikrant Jain


Dr. Sohini Ganguly from the Department of Earth Science, Goa University has been conferred with National Geoscience Young Scientist Award for the year 2018 to recognize her significant works in the field of Petrology, Volcanology, and Geochemistry.

Prof. Syed Wajih Ahmad Naqvi, CSIR, has been conferred with Award for Excellence for his contributions in the field of biogeochemical research.

The National Geoscience Awards for the year 2018 were presented to twenty-two scientists from across the country. The Awards were given in ten disciplines covering Mineral exploration, Groundwater exploration, mining technology, Mineral beneficiation, Sustainable mineral development, Basic and applied geosciences, Geo-environmental studies, and Natural hazards investigation.

The National Mineral Awards Scheme was introduced in 1966 by the Ministry of Mines; the scope of the awards was expanded in 2009 as renamed to National Geoscience Awards. Each award is in the form of a Certificate and a Cash Prize.

There are three categories of awards under National Geoscience Awards:

i) National Geoscience Award for Excellence referred to as the

“Award for Excellence”

ii) National Geoscience Awards referred to as the “Awards” and

iii) Young Scientist Award

Hence, (B) is the correct answer.

Questions related to Awards and Prizes are asked in various government exams like State PCS, SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SSC MTS, SSC CPO, IBPS PO, IBPS SO, RRB Group D, RRB NTP, etc. Try and attempt free mock tests at PendulumEdu.



Share Blog