QOTD- GK Who has been elected to Lok Sabha highest number of times?

2019-06-20 | Team PendulumEdu


   A. Atal Bihari Vajpayee

   B. Sumitra Mahajan

   C. Indrajit Gupta

   D. Kamal Nath

   E. Virendra Kumar

Correct Answer: C

Indrajit Gupta of Communist Party of India has been elected to Lok Sabha 11 times, which is highest in history of Indian Parliament. He was first elected in 1960 in a by-election. He represented Calcutta South-West from 1962-1967, Alipore from 1967-1977, Basirhat from 1980-1989, Midnapore from 1989-2001. He also served as Union Home Minister in H D Deve Gowda Government.

Atal Bihari Vajpayee has been elected to Loksabha 10 times. He was first elected in 1962. During his tenure he represented Bharatiya Jana Sangh, Janata Party and Bhartiya Janata Party. He was a member in 2nd, 4th, 5th, 6th, 7th, 10th, 11th, 12th, 13th and 14th Lok Sabha. He has represented Balrampur, Gwalior, New Delhi and Lucknow constituency.

Sumitra Mahajan of Bharatiya Janata Party has represented Indore constituency of Madhya Pradesh 8 number of times continuously from 1989 to 2019.

Kamal Nath of Indian National Congress has been elected to Lok Sabha 9 times from Chhindwara constituency of Madhya Pradesh. He was first elected in 1980.

Virendra Kumar of Bharatiya Janata Party, who was protem speaker of 16th Lok Sabha has been elected from Tikamgarh constituency of Madhya Pradesh 6 times continuously from 1996.

Hence, (C) is the correct answer.

Check our previous question of the day




Share Blog