Question of The Day09-02-2020

Which of the following is not included in the list of natural calamities by the government?


Correct Answer : c ) Volcanic eruption

Explanation :

The government considers twelve different natural events as natural calamities. They are drought, hailstorms, pest attack and cold wave/frost, cyclone, earthquake, fire, flood, tsunami, landslide, avalanche, cloud burst. Out of these 12 natural calamities, the Ministry of Agriculture and Farmers' Welfare is the nodal ministry for the first four.

Ministry of Home Affairs is the nodal ministry for remaining. These twelve natural calamities are eligible for getting assistance from the State Disaster Response Fund (SDRF) and National Disaster Response Fund (NDRF).

But, state governments can also spend 10% of SDRF for carrying out relief operations in case of certain State-specific local disasters. While NDRF was created as per section 46 of Disaster Management Act, 2005, SDRF was created under section 48(1) (a) of Disaster Management Act, 2005. The central government declares a natural calamity as a calamity of severe nature on the recommendations of the Inter-Ministerial Central Team (IMCT).   

Hence, (c) is the correct answer.                              

Such type of question is asked in various government exams like State PCS, SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, SSC CPO, RRB NTPC, etc.

Read Daily Current Affairs, Banking Awareness and attempt free mock tests at PendulumEdu and boost your preparation for the actual exam.



Share QOTD


Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz