Question of The Day14-01-2022

Which of the following statements is not correct about ISRO?


Correct Answer : a ) ISRO was established in 1973.

Explanation :

Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was formed on 15 August 1969. Its headquarters is located in Bengaluru. ISRO works under the Department of Space. Prime Minister directly overlooks the Department of Space. Vikram Sarabhai was the first Chairman of ISRO. Vikram Sarabhai contributed to the establishment of INCOSPAR under the Dept of Atomic Enrgy in 1962. In 1969, INCOSPAR became ISRO and in 1972 ISRO was brought under the purview of the Department of Space. The first satellite built by ISRO was Aryabhatta, launched by the Soviet Union on 19 April 1975.

S Somanath has been appointed as the new Chairman and executive of Department of Space.

Hence, option (a) is correct.



Share QOTD


Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz