QOTD-Which of the following country is not part of the QUAD group?

2019-09-28 | Team PendulumEdu


A. India

B. Australia

C. China

D. Japan


Quadrilateral Security Dialogue or Quad is an informal strategic grouping that includes Japan, India, United States and Australia. The Japanese Prime Minister Shinzo Abe mooted this idea in 2007 with an aim to establish an Asian Arc of Democracy. But, later Australia withdrew from the dialogue. During the 2017 ASEAN Summit, the four members agreed to revive the dialogue amid tensions in the South China Sea. The members of the group share a common vision of open and free Indo-Pacific.

Recently, foreign ministers of the Quad countries met on the sidelines of the United Nations General Assembly meeting in New York. The countries reiterated their commitment to shared values and cooperation on maritime security, infrastructure and connectivity.

Hence, (C) is the correct answer.

Questions related to Regional groupings/International Organizations are asked in the General Awareness section of various exams like UPSC CSE, UPSC CDS, State PCS, SSC CGL, SSC CPO, RRB JE, IBPS SO, IBPS PO, etc. Try and attempt free mock tests at PendulumEdu and keep yourself updated with latest pattern and analysis of different exams. Also, one can clear all exam related doubts through PendulumEdu’s one-to-one session.



Share Blog