Russia expelled from UNHRC

2022-04-07 | Priyanka Chaudhary

Amid Ukraine-Russia war, there have been persitant demands from Ukrainian government to held Russia responsible for humanitarian crisis in the country. In the wake of the Russia-Ukraine war, Russia has been expelled from United Nations Human Rights Commission (UNHRC).

A move to suspend Russia from UNHRC was moved by America over reports of "gross and systematic violations and abuses of human rights" by invading Russian troops in Ukraine.The UN General Assembly voted on the draft resolution. UNGA needed to vote in favour by two-thirds to remove Russia from the UN Human Rights Council. 

A total of 93 members voted in favour while 24 countries voted against the resolution. 58 countries abstained from voting. India, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Brazil, Egypt, Indonesia, Iraq, Malaysia, Maldives, Nepal, Pakistan, Qatar, Saudi Arabia, Singapore, South Africa, Sri Lanka and UAE abstained from voting. The membership of Russia will end in December 2023.

Russia has become the only second member to be suspended from the UNHRC after Libya. In 2011, a resolution was adopted to suspend Libya in the General Assembly that expressed “deep concern about the human rights situation in the Libyan Arab Jamahiriya" in response to Muammar Al-Qadhafi’s violent crackdown on anti-government protestors.

About UNHRC:

UNHRC is a United Nations inter-governmental body that aims to promote and protect human rights around the world. It was formed on 15 March 2006. It's headquarters is located in Geneva, Switzerland. Its Current President is Federico Villegas. The Council is made of 47 Member States, which are elected by the majority of members of the General Assembly of the United Nations through direct and secret ballot.

The Council's Membership is based on equitable geographical distribution. Seats are distributed as follows:

African States: 13 seats

Asia-Pacific States: 13 seats

Latin American and Caribbean States: 8 seats

Western European and other States: 7 seats

Eastern European States: 6 seats


The members serve for a period of three years and are not eligible for immediate re-election after serving two consecutive terms. 


Priyanka Chaudhary

Joined On : 01-Jan-19

Priyanka is an expert in General Awareness and has experience of over 7 years of teaching various subjects of General Awareness and Current Affairs.



Share Blog