Question of The Day10-10-2019

Which of the following is not a constitutional body?


Correct Answer : b ) Central Information Commission

Explanation :

The Election Commission, Union Public Service Commission and Finance Commission are constitutional bodies established under Article 324, 315 and 280 of the Constitution of India, respectively. While the Election Commission and Finance Commission was established in 1950 and 1951 respectively, Union Public Service Commission came into existence in 1926 as Public Service Commission. Government of India Act, 1935 changed it into Federal Public Service Commission, which was renamed as Union Public Service Commission after independence.

Some other Constitutional bodies are State Public Service Commission, National Commission for SCs (Article 338) and National Commission for STs (Article 338-A).

Niti Aayog, National Human Rights Commission, Central Information Commission, State Information Commission, Central Vigilance Commission, Central Bureau of Investigation, Lokpal, National Commission for Women, National Commission for Minorities, National Commission for Backward Classes and National Commission for Protection of Child Rights are not constitutional bodies. They are statutory bodies established by acts of Parliament of India. Central Information Commission was set up under the Right to Information Act in 2005.

Hence, option (b) is correct.

Questions related to Constitutional Bodies are asked in various exams like UPSC CSE, UPSC CDS, State PCS, SSC CGL, SSC CHSL, IBPS SO, etc. Try and attempt free mock tests at PendulumEdu.



Share QOTD


Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz