Question of The Day31-10-2021

Which of the following does not belong to the Mauryan style of Architecture?


Correct Answer : b ) Modhera Sun Temple

Explanation :

The Modhera Sun Temple is located at Modhera village of Mehsana district, Gujarat, India. It is situated on the bank of the river Pushpavati. It was built after 1026-27 CE during the reign of Bhimadev Solanki I of the Chalukya dynasty.

The Lomas Rishi Cave is one of the man-made Barabar Caves in the Barabar and Nagarjuni hills of Jehanabad district, Bihar. It was excavated during Ashoka's reign and gifted to Ajivika monks.

The Lion Capital of Ashoka is adopted as the official Emblem of India in 1950. It was originally placed on the top of the Ashoka pillar at Sarnath by Emperor Ashoka, in 250 BCE.

Piprahwa stupa is one of the oldest stupas built during the reign of the Mauryan emperor Ashoka.

Hence, option (b) is correct.



Share QOTD


Attempt Daily Current
Affairs Quiz

Attempt Quiz